Leadership Is Influence

I have 4 children, 3 boys and a girl. My oldest son is 5 and he is beginning to enjoy doing the same things that I do. For example, my family has always been involved in athletics, but we really focused on baseball. I watch baseball and really wanted my sons to like the game, but wasn’t going to force it on them. It seems like overnight they all three have started loving the game and want to play all the time. What seems like overnight has really been the last 5 years of his life. I have influenced him to like the game that I loved playing and really wasn’t even trying at it.

As a leader in my business, I have this same affect on my team. My team is influenced by the way I handle myself. This applies to everything I do, whether it be work ethic, temperament, integrity, decisiveness just to name a few. It is imperative that I always keep that in the forefront of my mind. The decisions I make not only influence the direction of the company, but they also influence the lives of my team. It is my job to nurture the lives of my team and to do this I must be a positive influence in their lives.

The Bible gives us some great examples of outstanding leadership all the way through the book. Nehemiah shows us a powerful example of influence when he rebuilt the walls in Jerusalem. Nehemiah was called to return to his homeland and lead the production of rebuilding the city walls and gates. After he had spent 3 days getting his plan together to rebuild the city, he addressed the people. Nehemiah had a strong faith, but some of the Israelite people were lacking in faith at the time. Nehemiah got to work and along the way begin building the faith of his team as they rebuilt the city. He did this by honoring the characteristics of an influencing leader. John Maxwell and Jim Dornan describe these characteristics in their book “Becoming a Person of Influence”. He breaks it down with an acronym to the work Influencer.

I- integrity with people

N- nurtures other people

F- faith in people

L- listens to people

U- understand people

E- enlarges people

N- navigates for other people

C- connects with people

E- empowers people

R- reproduces other influencers

Think about these traits and search yourself to see which ones you could improve on. Let’s all strive to be a better influencer of our teams.

“Everything rises and falls on Leadership”- John Maxwell

One thought on “Leadership Is Influence

Leave a Reply

